Pleasant Hill, Missouri            Wednesday,  October 29, 2014                ©2014 Pleasant Hill Times

 About Us
 Kirk & Kerry
 Public Notices
 Upcoming Events
 Kids Corner
 Ad Rates
 Staff / Contact
 Photo Gallery
 Privacy / Refund Policy

Click on link for the online version of

 City of Pleasant Hill
 Pleasant Hill Schools
 Pleasant Hill Chamber
 Cass County
 MSHP Accident Search
 MO Sexual Predator List
Click for Pleasant Hill, Missouri Forecast

Where can I
get the paper?

Subscribe   or

Casey's General Store

Dollar $ense

Fastop Conv. Store

Gibson General Store

Liquor Barn

P. Hill Conv. Store

P. Hill Drug Store

P. Hill North Bank

P. Hill Pet & Livestock

P. Hill Times Office

Price Chopper

Samra Mart Conv. Store


Temp Stop Conv. Store

Community of the Year

Pleasant Hill's delegation to the 2014 Missouri Community Betterment Conference (above) accepts the MCB Gene Speichinger award at the October 20 banquet in Columbia. Pictured (from left) are high school student Madison Bailey, state MCB president John Gulick, Pleasant Hill MCB president Cliff Borgstadt, city administrator Mark Randall, students Grace Dyson, Alleana Holt, Emma Widaman, Anthony Holt, Jaleah Jones, city administrative assistant Stephanie Ray, student Nathan Ryan, community development director Randy Miller and youth volunteer Steve Moore.

Pleasant Hill wins MCB's top award

...Pleasant Hill was se- lected the 2014 Community of the Year at the Missouri Community Betterment Conference held last week in Columbia.
...Nearly 225 volunteers, community leaders and youth from across the state attended the MCB Conference and October 20 awards banquet.
... MCB's Gene Speichinger Community of the Year Award recognizes the outstanding community among the 19 entered in this year's awards program.
..."This is exciting," said Pleasant Hill Community Betterment president Cliff Borgstadt. "It's a reflection of what can be accomplished when everyone works together toward a common goal."
...Borgstadt said a lot of people worked very hard on projects to make the community a better place to live and thanked everyone who played a part in helping Pleasant Hill win the top MCB award.
...MCB judges and board members said they were impressed with Pleasant Hill's overall understanding of the community betterment organization's role in town.
..."Pleasant Hill has done a great job of integrating city leadership in collaboration with community volunteers to accomplishing challenging improvement projects," the MCB judges said. "We congratulate all of the volunteers," they said. "Because of these dedicated individuals and their collective efforts, Pleasant Hill is a better place to live, work and play."
...Among Pleasant Hill projects entered in the MCB competition this year were renovation of a building at 130 First Street in downtown Pleasant Hill, the "We Give" student leadership program at the Pleasant Hill High School, expansion of the Pleasant Hill Historical Society Museum, the Tucker Renewal Center renovation project and construction of a new municipal swimming pool.
...Pleasant Hill also placed first in the Category IV category for larger communities ahead of second place Salem, third place Lamar and fourth place Clinton.
...Rachel Liley of Pleasant Hill was among ten teenagers receiving youth leadership awards at the 2014 MCB Conference. Rachel has played a key leadership role in Pleasant Hill's award winning "We Give" youth program.
...Pleasant Hill received a $500 cash prize, plaque and traveling trophy for the Community of the Year award and a $300 cash prize and a plaque for winning first place in Category IV.
...The Monday evening awards banquet is an integral part of the MCB program administered by the Missouri Community Betterment Educational Trust. The trust is a not-for-profit organization made up of businesses, public utilities, community representatives, federal and state agencies and individuals,
...Created in 1963, the Missouri Community Betterment Program is designed to help Missouri communities enhance their quality of life through community development, planning and implementation.
...MCB lends technical assistance recognizing and awarding communities that excel in the program.
...Award winning communities and individuals at the 2014 MCB Conference follow.
...Category I—Allendale, first place; Caledonia, second place; South Iron/Annapolis, third place; Jameson, fourth place; and Cainsville, fifth place.
...Category II—Galena, first place; Grant City, second place; Lowry City, third place; Mansfield, fourth place.
...Category III—Louisiana, first place; Albany, second place; Steelville, third place; Houston, fourth place, East Prairie, fifth place; and Bourbon, certificate of merit.
...Category IV—Pleasant Hill, first place; Salem, second place; Lamar, third place; and Clinton, fourth place.
...Gene Speichinger Community of the Year Award Pleasant Hill.
Category I youth groupsSouth Iron/Annapolis, first place, and Caledonbia, second place.
...Category III youth groups —Steelville, first place, and Houston, second place.
...Category IV youth groups —Lamar, first place, and Clinton, second place.
...Youth Leadership Awards —John Alexander Lucas, Caledonia; Ben Hugenot, Houston; Kathryn Nicole Crouch, Albany; Shelby Renner, Louisiana; Rachel Walden, Salem; Taylor Largent, Clinton; Tony Morgan, Lamar; Kylee Sexton, Steelville; Bayle Sutton, South Iron/Annapolis; and Rachel Liley, Pleasant Hill. ......Glenn Smith Youth Group of the Year Award Steelville.
...Adult Leadership Awards —Vicky Keely, Louisiana; Alice Wells, Houston; Robert Smith, Albany; Tod Kinerk, Salem; Craig Thompson, Clinton, Marilyn Selvey, Lamar; and Norma Owens, South Iron/Annapolis.
...MCB 2014 Ambassador Award—Geri Mills, South Iron/Annapolis, and Ken Caspall, MFA Oil Foundation.

Digital Subscriptions

Click on thumbnail below to view.